1st MEMBREC Symposium 2012

2nd MEMBREC Symposium 2013

3rd MEMBREC Symposium 2014

4th MEMBREC Symposium 2015

Welcome to the home page of MEMBREC symposia. We aim at organizing a series of symposia focusing on different aspects of biological membrane research. The symposium has been organized annually since 2012.  The sixth symposium in the series will focus on membrane contact sites, that is, on contact sites between different organelles.

PROGRAM September 5, 2017


8.50-9.00 Opening address, Ville Paavilainen

SESSION I  Molecular machineries at membrane contact sites; Chair Ville Paavilainen

9.00-9.45  Harald Stenmark (Oslo): Protrudin and ER-endosome contact sites in endosome positioning

9.45-10.15 Vesa Olkkonen (Helsinki): OSBP-related protein family: Lipid transporters and sensors at membrane contact sites.

10.15-11.00 Ricardo Escalante (Madrid): The ER-membrane protein VMP1 regulates membrane contact sites and autophagy

11.00-12.30 Lunch, posters and meet the speakers session

SESSION II Organelle contacts; Chair Eija Jokitalo

12.30-13.15 Benoit Kornmann (Zürich): Force-induced fission: how mechanical  strain influences mitochondrial dynamics

13.15-13.45 Eija Jokitalo (Helsinki): Lipid droplet biogenesis from the ER

13.45-14.15 Ville Paavilainen (Helsinki): Subunit Connectivity and Architecture of a Conserved Endoplasmic Reticulum Membrane Protein Complex

14.15-14.30 Annukka Kivelä (young presenter, Helsinki): OSBP-related proteins in endothelial cells: Impacts on angiogenesis

14.30-15.00 Coffee

SESSION III         Autophagy; Chair Eeva-Liisa Eskelinen

15.00-15.30 Eeva-Liisa Eskelinen (Helsinki): Introduction to cellular self-eating

15.30-16.15 Nicholas Ktistakis (Cambridge, UK): Selective and non-selective autophagy: the first 3 minutes

16.15-16.45 Noora Kotaja (Turku): Interplay between ribonucleoprotein granules and autophagy in differentiating male germ cells

16.45-17.00 Darshan Kumar (young presenter, Helsinki): FAM134C promotes ER membrane curvature and autophagosome formation

17.00-17.05 Closing of the symposium and best poster price, Vesa Olkkonen